Website design by Creative Stream

23/07/09 | One year on. It is just over a year since my father died.  My mother is living in her new home and enjoyi... {more}
24/11/08 | Virgin - arghhh! Oh the joys! Today we undertook the installation of our Virgin phone / broadband cable from the hous... {more}
23/11/08 | Awadukt results This morning we've had our first chance to look at our ground to air energy transfer, in the absence... {more}

news

Date Description
Thu 23 Jul 2009One year on.

It is just over a year since my father died.&nb... more

Mon 24 Nov 2008Virgin - arghhh!
Oh the joys! Today we undertook the installation o... more
Sun 23 Nov 2008Awadukt results
This morning we've had our first chance to look at... more
Thu 20 Nov 2008Smelly water!

One of the first things we got working in the h... more

Sat 15 Nov 2008The kitchen glass

Paul has been laid low with  viral gut inf... more

Tue 21 Oct 2008The show must go on!

It has been really hard to put pen to paper or ... more

Tue 15 Jul 2008..and then there were three
Very, very sad to say that Dad died today. 
Mon 30 Jun 2008Carpets...
...were fitted today in all three bedrooms and the... more
Mon 23 Jun 2008..the countdown
The carpets are being fitted on the 30 June so the... more
Wed 18 Jun 2008By Golly We've Done It!

The curved glass has been fitted - all thr... more

Mon 16 Jun 2008Floor levelling

This weekend we have put a Weber floor levellin... more

Sat 14 Jun 2008The electrical installation

All the time that exciting developments have be... more

Thu 12 Jun 2008The paint job
I have never really been a fan of painting but as ... more
Tue 10 Jun 2008There’s the bad news and then there’s the worse news…!
The bad news is that with 8 triple suction lifters... more
Fri 06 Jun 2008The Glass Dome
For the last 3 months, the entrance has had clear ... more
Mon 02 Jun 2008‘Baz and Ollie’ fan club…
If you want the best tilers in the world – g... more
Sun 25 May 2008Two down, two to go..

The bathroom tiling is now complete as is the w... more

Thu 22 May 2008Leave of absence

I haven't written for a while.  Dad has be... more

Sun 04 May 2008Grand Designs Live

As a true advocate of IBL lighting and having u... more

Tue 29 Apr 2008Busman's holiday

We have just had a brief trip to Portugal to ge... more

Thu 24 Apr 2008The sexy gutters
I have spent most of the last two days on a scaffo... more
Tue 22 Apr 2008Hard hats and slippers?

The tiles are going down - they look superb.&nb... more

Mon 21 Apr 2008Things are looking up - for a Monday!

Today, Ollie and Barry, the tilers from Foxwood... more

Fri 18 Apr 2008The tunnel, but what happened to the light at the end of it?

There have been some weeks during this build wh... more

Wed 16 Apr 2008Let there be light!

....Mummy Bears rule the day! This is our own n... more

Mon 14 Apr 2008This week

We have taken on a geothermal and underflo... more

Sun 13 Apr 2008Who says underfloor heating needs to be underfloor?

 We have Rehau underfloor heating fitted t... more

Sun 06 Apr 2008Building a snowman..

...would be easier than building this bungalow ... more

Thu 03 Apr 2008The morning after the night before

I think we are all relieved that we got through... more

Tue 25 Mar 2008Filming day

The bungalow is looking good - in parts!  ... more

Mon 24 Mar 2008No more, no more...

please. We worked on site until nearly midnight... more

Sun 23 Mar 2008The spray job...

We have had another mad day but at 7pm, Paul st... more

Fri 21 Mar 2008Aneka eat your heart out

We have three days to final filming and the pla... more

Sun 16 Mar 2008Projection plastering

Knauf kindly supported this project with their ... more

Fri 14 Mar 2008It's raining men...

...or should I say it is raining and there are ... more

Mon 10 Mar 2008The Kitchen arrived from Ikea

...in amongst all the mayhem!   It is... more

Fri 29 Feb 2008Wot no windows?

After much deliberation, we have decided to get... more

Fri 22 Feb 2008The windows saga

Having been promised the window delivery on 15t... more

Wed 20 Feb 2008Can it get any worse?

Paul is being pulled in so many directions as h... more

Mon 11 Feb 2008JIT Cottage

Forget Bluebell Bunalow, this should be call th... more

Fri 01 Feb 2008Home Automation

We have struggled to get our heads around the w... more

Thu 31 Jan 2008The end of another week - Gale force winds and more rain

....with the final filming date looming we are ... more

Tue 22 Jan 2008Seamless gutters

We found the most amazing new gutter system (oo... more

Mon 21 Jan 2008Windows

Having watched many Grand Designs programmes we... more

Fri 18 Jan 2008The final piece of roof arrives

Having had several moved dates, the last sectio... more

Tue 15 Jan 2008Snorkel and flippers?

What a day - severe weather warnings, torrentia... more

Fri 28 Dec 2007New Year

With the final date of filming looming -  ... more

Wed 12 Dec 2007A polystyrene overcoat?

We met with Graham Barrett of Relius, a part of... more

Tue 11 Dec 2007The final stages of the roof...or not?

The last five roof panels arrive. As the shape ... more

Mon 10 Dec 2007More to this than bricks and mortar!
Jean decides there is more to the bungalow than bl... more
Fri 02 Nov 2007Underfloor Heating Design
Today Ian Shaw, of Design-UFH, the underfloor heat... more
Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No - it's our roof !!!
Today was a very exciting day - our first roof sec... more
Thu 16 Aug 2007Underfloor heating

We have spent a long and gruelling weekend layi... more

Fri 06 Jul 2007More Piles!

Ever wondered what the bottom of a 12m pile hol... more

Tue 03 Jul 2007Piles!

The game is finally on! Piling rig arrives... more

Wed 11 Apr 2007Stumpy!

Some wit suggested that "The best thing yo... more

Fri 02 Feb 2007Nice dry site - NOT!

We started clearing and levelling the site - an... more

Fri 18 Aug 2006Breaking Ground
Jean climbed aboard the JCB and, under instruction... more